top of page
  • Writer's pictureBusiness Council Staff

Three New York Cities Part of National 'Tech Hub' Funding Award

Thirty-one cities across the U.S., including Syracuse, Buffalo, and Rochester, have been designated national tech hubs by the White House, opening up billions of dollars in new federal investments across Upstate New York.

President Biden made the announcement Monday, saying in a press release '...these Tech Hubs will catalyze investment in technologies critical to economic growth, national security, and job creation, and will help communities across the country become centers of innovation critical to American competitiveness.'

The Tech Hubs program was authorized by the CHIPS and Science Act – signed by President Biden in August 2022 – and is part of the President’s "Bidenomics" agenda to grow the economy from the middle out and bottom up, the release states.

The selection of the 31 cities comes after a nationwide competition that drew 378 applications from 48 states.

The three cities Upstate will form a national tech hub specializing in semiconductor manufacturing and research, making the Central and Western New York region eligible for a piece of up to $10 billion in federal funding for investments in new technologies.


bottom of page